Numbers

I’ve been taught that the human heart beats 60 times per minute.
The average adult takes 12 to 18 breaths every minute.
A human is just a numbers game.
Between every thought is a breath, a blink, a beat. A compilation of subconscious counting.
But the first time I saw him I became very aware of everything.
The way he blinked between every sentence within those first 4 minutes, 38 times.
When you first touched my hand I could feel every pulsing, rapid hit of my heart as it beat 60 times in those first 30 seconds alone.
I want to shed my skin, all that has met his. In the 106th day of us talking. He laughed.
How many breaths does a person take while laughing?
When I first told him I loved him I only heard silence. When I told him again I received one syllable “stop.”
He didn’t even blink after he left me. He didn’t even tell me why.

 

The human heart beats 60 times per minute. The average person takes 12 to 18 breaths per minute.
So, why, why can’t I breathe when he’s gone.
why has my heart slowed into a tortured pulse, breaking with every beat when he once made it beat so fast that my knees went weak?
I don’t know how many days it’s been since he has touched me.
I don’t know how long it will take for him to wash off my skin.
I’ve stopped counting.

Author: Typical Shay

ESCAPING THE MONOTONY. UNRAVELING THE TANGLED HEARTSTRINGS THAT WEAVE THROUGH MY MIND.

4 thoughts on “Numbers”

Leave your thought

